APRM Kick Start Revitalisation Mission to Seychelles


Victoria, Seychelles - August 8, 2023: The Government of the Republic of Seychelles will host a delegation from the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) Continental Secretariat led by Professor Eddy Maloka from August 7th to 11th, 2023 to revive the APRM Process in the country. As the 40th  African Union member states to accede to the APRM in 2020, the Republic of Seychelles has always been known for its commendable practices in governance that can be shared amongst other APRM participating states. 

The revitalisation mission to Seychelles, commonly known as a sensitisation mission, will mainly consist of a workshop and a series of engagements with authorities of the Republic of Seychelles. Through these engagements the APRM wish to renew its commitment to support country with the establishment of its APRM national structures and set Seychelles’ APRM process in motion. 

The APRM Continental Secretariat, in partnership with the Government of Seychelles will also co-host a revitalization and experience-sharing workshop at the esteemed Savoy Resort in Victoria, Seychelles, scheduled to take place from August 8th to 9th, 2023. The workshop will be officiated by Minister Sylvestre Radegonde, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Tourism of the Republic of Seychelles and Dr. Rachel Mukamunana, Director of Country Review and Assessment.

The primary objective of this workshop is to empower and reenergize APRM countries facing challenges in implementing their national governance review process since their accession to the mechanism. Fourteen countries have responded enthusiastically to APRM's call for reviving their national review processes, including Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cameroun, Congo, Comoros, Djibouti, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Mali, Mauritania, Tanzania, Togo, Zimbabwe, and the host country Seychelles.

With the aim of facilitating peer learning and promoting best practices, the APRM has designed this pioneering workshop as a platform for experience sharing and peer learning. Distinguished representatives from Chad, Cote d'Ivoire, Kenya, and Namibia will also participate, offering their valuable insights on their achievements and lessons learned. By fostering collaboration and knowledge sharing, the workshop seeks to achieve several objectives:

  1. Strengthening the commitment of participating countries to the APRM process.
  2. Enhancing understanding of the APRM process, its methodologies, and implementation strategies.
  3. Deepening collaboration between the Continental Secretariat and the represented countries.
  4. Developing innovative approaches and a roadmap to address challenges and obstacles faced by APRM participating states.

During the workshop, participants will engage in interactive sessions, informative presentations, and constructive discussions, aimed at fostering a dynamic environment conducive to the advancement of the APRM process. The ultimate goal is to rejuvenate national structures and peer review processes in the participating countries, thus paving the way for stronger governance and sustainable development across the African continent.
The APRM Continental Secretariat expresses its sincere appreciation to the government of the Republic of Seychelles for hosting this significant event and for taking another step towards achieving its national APRM governance process.


For media inquiries, please contact:
Name: Diana Demba
Title: Country Coordinator, APRM
Email: diana.demba@aprm-au.org  
Phone: +27 66 2642415